Much Ado- Newsletter 2

Hey Old Sports,

To start- the first 7 pages of Great Gatsby: Image Is Everything Chapter 1 is up! If you didn’t catch the promos on my socials then here’s your invitation to come and read on Webtoons or Tapas (subbing on either platform via app will give you notifications in the future btw) So far it has gotten a lot of love which I really appreciate. At the moment I’m tracking my progress more diligently. This first installment spanned over many weeks while I was focused on multiple things (and fighting that perfectionism) so I wasn’t able to clearly see my comic creation speed. From here on out I’m hopeful to gauge my speed so I can better upload and decide when I need a hiatus. Atm part 2 lettering/thumbnailing is done! I do have the desire to post part 2 towards the second to Thurs. of November and part 3 around a similar time in December. (A note for anyone who writes reviews and wants a timeline) In the future I want bi-monthly updates so these newsletters can pop up as a companion reminder on Fridays.

If you’re use to me dropping Patreon postcards each month and have been wondering where they are, I announced on my Patreon that I’m pausing til Jan 1st. I’d rather focus on backlogging a few months in advance so I can

  • Create with better quality

  • Focus better on multiple projects without stressing

Towards the end of December I’ll start hyping the Patreon back up again with Jan’s postcard as well as new tier physical rewards I’m starting! I’m going to start making stickers and pins! I’ve been wanted to branch into that smaller form of reward for a while now and during my NYCC trip I was able to grab some new inspo in the most unlikely place. Here’s a sneak peak of Jan’s pin/sticker reward:

In addition to the new tier and cleaning up my Patreon, current patrons are able to read the Gatsby comic as full sequential pages rather than the Webtoon/Tapas long scroll! I’ll continue to upload for each update.

NOTE: Currently if you’re a patron of mine you won’t be billed til Jan 1st so you can hang tight. If you’d like to sub now as a patron ahead of Jan you’re able to as well. It’ll charge you once for the initial sub and then you won’t be charged again til Jan 1st.

To ease and tease into more project news: back in September I finally dipped my toes into the fashion world. I’ve been wanting to work a way for my art and fashion to come together but most print on demand shops cater to standard tshirts and hoodies with a graphic slapped in the middle..never cared for that. So I studied, asked peers, bought swatch color and material samples, started to learn how to speak to manufacturers and create kickstarters. I came up with a rough draft for a corset top and even sewed it myself!

From this draft I’ve begun to form a collection idea- not just corsets but scarves, socks, pins, and more! I’m still in the process of creating an updated tech pack for this first collection. It’s more of a side project for the next few months. I’ll share bits of it as I go on but for now just know and be ready for clothes and accessories in the new year!

Last bit here: reminding you of art you may have missed last month. I illustrated 3 Fall Fragrance inspired mock adverts for fun/my portfolio.

Check my socials to see them all and give them some love too please. Likes, shares, and comments not only mean a lot but help support me against crummy scummy algorithms.

(All my socials are in my carrd below, even my Bluesky)

Thanks for supporting and reading! I’ll check in with y’all later in the month in time with the next Gatsby comic update. Til then,

Stay rad, Old Sports,

-Vincent