A Modest Start

And so it begins- the start of this newsletter and the start of

GREAT GATSBY Image Is Everything!

In case you missed it, I teased the cover of Chapter 1 the other day on Webtoons and Tapas. I’m anxious both in an excited way and a nervous way😅 it’s that perfectionist in me but I feel confident in my new start/detours from the Classic and really the only way to get over those nervous feelings is to just do, ya know.

I’m still working on the first few pages of part one and I’m enjoying how they look thus far! I edited them several times and had pulls from my script a few times to enhance moments. Sometimes newer and grander ideas come along while you’re actually drawing things out and applying dialogue and…wait- let’s save this oncoming avalanche of the workflow process for later.

In technical news, while I am posting to Webtoons and Tapas again (since that’s where the main following is) I am also working on a webpage to house the comic properly. It’s taking some time. I was a Tumblr teen but I always just used some cool, free theme friends showed me. I never tried HTML and CSS. Oh, how I regret never learning to make my own personalized SuperWhoLock theme with Star Trek insignias everywhere.

I tried Neocities and Wordpress but I find that Comicfury will be the perfect “easy mode with the right interface” blend for me! I’d love to have the site up by the end of Chapter 1 so cross your fingers that this old head dog can learn new tricks🤞🏾

In the posting world- like I said I’m aiming to use this newsletter to help y’all see my posts- I recently posted my Oppenheimer fan poster! You may have seen me gush over the film a few times on Twitter.

I posted it to Twitter, BlueSky, and Insta but I also made prints of it as well on my InPRNT! There’s still a sale going on there (40% off with $5 shipping worldwide) so if you feel inclined, grab a print! The GREAT GATSBY Chapter 1 cover is also up for print as well but for a limited time!

And I think that’s where I’ll leave us for this first newsletter! I have ideas to talk about my process a bit and books/movies I’ve been checking out each month, as well as creative projects that aren’t strictly comic-related. (Speaking of, samples for a new creative medium I’m trying out arrived mid me writing this so I’m gonna check them out fully after I post this). So more to come as I get the hang of this.

Thanks for supporting my art and reading my rambles! Talk to y’all again towards the end of the month!

Stay rad, Old Sports,

-Vincent